Bathroom cabinet or shelves?
An K
June 28, 2014 in Design Dilemma
Should I put in a bathroom cabinet (color) or shelves (glass' wood? Please help with suggestions. Bathroom is half bath downstairs so guests will be using it too
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
PRO
Dytecture
Not sure where you are thinking of putting the cabinets/shelves.
June 29, 2014 at 5:24AM   
PRO
JWH Design and Cabinetry LLC
If you are thinking about over the toilet, shelves will be better. With the angled ceiling, a cabinet will be tricky and awkward unless it is a custom depth and configuration.

Wood shelves to compliment the other wood shown would be better than glass. Seeing the underside of your display items (and the dust on open glass shelves) would not be as practical or pretty.
June 29, 2014 at 5:41AM     
donaflor
I am no pro, not by a long shot. But something to consider is there seems to be a lot of wood in there already. I have a sort of decorative iron thing with three glass shelves over the toilet in my bath, and the dust issue is real. I looks like you have a framed mirror over the sink-- would a vintage-y medicine cabinet be an option ? I've seen them without mirrors and with, painted and not.
Just a thought...
June 29, 2014 at 8:12AM     
An K
I know there is a lot of wood and brown- this was my husbands project. The cabinet/ shelves would be above the toilet. I was hoping to bring in some green glass bottles or something. It needs some 'pop' please advise
June 29, 2014 at 9:06AM   
donaflor
An K, that was just an observation, not a criticism! About the wood, I mean. With wood, my mind wanders to more traditional territories, like maybe a hooked or rag rug, towels picking up a color from it. With the shelving, I am partial to peeling paint myself. I would haunt the fleas, but I know that's not everyone's cup of tea.
June 29, 2014 at 10:17AM     
An K