Advice on wood paneling please!
vananunezJuly 12, 2014
I have never worked with wood paneling before but I am getting a small apartment with carpet and I want wood floors. I've seen a video explaining how to install them but I have no idea where to buy them (for a good price) or how to tell if it's good quality wood. Please help! Thanks!
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
hayleydaniels
I don't understand your question. Do you want to put in wood paneling or wood floors? I would be very surprised if a landlord would allow a tenant to replace the floors on her own.

Do you have much experience working with power tools? I ask this because the nailer to do hardwood floors is heavy, and would probably be more than most women could handle. And do you know how to pull up an old subfloor and replace it? You would have to be able to use a power saw to cut the boards down to a managable size as you took it up, and it's not easy--we took up a lot of old flooring last year, and it was something my husband had to do.

You also have to be very careful about not buying cheap wood flooring as it's not dried properly, and will cup and pop up over time. You want to buy from a regular flooring store, not a big box store like Home Depot or Lumber Liquidators.

It's very easy to decide that if something can be done on a video in 20 minutes, anyone with half a brain can do it. That's just not so, and if you need proof of that, check out the show Renovation Realities on the DIY Network that features regular people with limited DIY skills doing various renovations. Maybe 5% of them get done in the time they project without major problems arising. We've remodeled and are now renovating, and I can tell you that it isn't as easy as it looks if you want it to look good.
1 Like    Bookmark   July 12, 2014 at 11:00AM
vananunez