Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
michelle_miltner

Fireplace Disaster!

Michelle Miltner
9 years ago
Hi everyone! I am a second year law student with a passion for interior design living in a rental in Albany, NY. When I first came to look at the apartment, I loved it and thought it was great. Now, after moving all of my things in... I literally can not get over how UGLY the fireplace is. Because it is a rental, I can't do anything permanent to it...but am looking for suggestions on any ways to cover up that vomit-colored tile. Thus far i've tried wood and paper, but neither looked right or stayed in place. While many will say "just live with it," my design OCD will not let me enjoy sitting in that room with the fireplace looking the way it does. It's awful no matter what I try! Help!

Comments (28)

• Darzy
    9 years ago
    Peel and stick tile that looks "vintage" but neutral..
    Peel-and-Stick Hexagon Mosaic Backsplash, White · More Info
    Michelle Miltner thanked Darzy
  • ladyrob1
    9 years ago
    Try copper sheeting. It can be purchased at high end arts and craft stores. Make a template of the area you want to cover..or .you could do it in three parts...top and sides with 45 degree angles in the corners. Get some light 3 ply wood sheeting and cut to fit the tiled area then use plaster or other building 'spacle' and make a hard textured surface on the 3 ply with that and allow to dry. Then rub and press the copper over the textured 3 ply and finally glue the copper sheeting on the three ply. Don't know what kind of stick and remove stuffs you have where you live but here in AUS we have a thing called "Blue Tac" used to fix pictures on walls in temporary situations so I believe it would hold the copper-covered ply to the tiles around the fire place.
    The resu;t would be in style with the wooden fire place surround.