U-shape Kitchen puzzle - Please help!
rissa14
August 22, 2012 in Design Dilemma
We are moving into a house with an outdated U-Shaped kitchen plan and lighting. We have to redo the Kitchen but it is such a small kitchen and it is between the formal dining, family room and off kitchen eating area.
I don't have the measurements since we are moving in at the end of the week but i have no idea how to open the kitchen and still have enough storage.
Any ideas?
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
rissa14
Here is the view from family room.
August 22, 2012 at 8:17pm   
dlangan
Hello rissa14.
I am fairly new to Houzz and saw your post. My kitchen is also U-shaped and small and found this article on Houzz :
Kitchen Layouts: Ideas for U-Shaped Kitchens
U-Shaped Kitchens are Great for Cooks and Guests. Is This One For You?
Webpage:

I maybe too late for this comment but thought I'd try anyway.
November 7, 2012 at 8:54am     
PRO
Otrada LLC
I'd check out opening the wall behind the sofa to allow for an open concept with extended counter. You'll lose a few upper cabinets, but you could work them back in on the new base cabinet.
November 7, 2012 at 9:04am     
PRO
Studio S Squared Architecture, Inc.
I've never seen soffits like that before, are those acrylic lenses with fluorescent tubes inside?
November 7, 2012 at 9:11am     
rissa14
Thanks Dlangan, i wish the space was that big, we have had some contractors come in and i think we are settling with Otrada's idea of opening the wall to the family room. It is the only option, i still don't have enough work surface.

Otrada, we are opening the wall facing the family room, we can't extend the counter too far out because it will come out too far and be on the way but your idea is what we have settled on thanks.

Studio S - Yes they are acrylics with fluorescent tubes, i cant wait to get them out. Fluorescent lights give me migraines i don't know how people live with them.
November 7, 2012 at 8:05pm   
Deb Reinhart