Garage Man Cave or Attic Man Cave
mistermullens
September 13, 2012 in Design Dilemma
Hello everyone! This is my first post, and my first day on the site and it is fantastic! It has become clear to me that I will be losing my current man cave inside the house as my wife and I plan for a baby in the future. I don't want it to be baby time and then I'm left with out my man cave. So in the spirit of things, I'm lookin to start a discussion.

I have two options. The first, is my garage, which will always be for me when the rest of the home is hers. The second is the attic above the garage.

I've put a lot of thought about what I would like to do with a Garage Man Cave, and it's coming along, but have yet to begin work. I live in a small, single family ranch home with a two car garage with each car getting it's own garage door. I don't have a lot of money, as is with most of us these days, so any wood I use will most likely be from pallets or recycled. Since I am a musician that's really into blues, it will have a juke joint theme.

The difficult part of this is that I still need to be able to park my cars in the garage and use it as a work area if need be. All tools will be concealed, and I'm building a workbench/bar that has wheels. The "bar" side of the bench will be just deep enough to hold liquor bottles and some misc items. The "workbench" will be accessed by swivelling the unit around, hence the wheels, for access to storage, tools, supplies, and other garage type items. I have an open cut out/storage space that houses my hot water heater plus anything else I can fit in the space. This will be covered with a faux pallet wall that will open up like your standard door for access if needed.

Additional bar seating will be provided along one wall having the "bar top" fold up/down, and secured for eating and drinking with chains attached to the wall essentially forming right triangles.