who makes the sink?
sewsusan1
October 14, 2012
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
PRO
Stratton Design Group
Dear Susan, I am in a particularily fiesty mood today and would like to raise a point at the risk of being ousted by the Houzzers out there - If I get voted off the island than so be it...

Today we are going to discuss "design courtesy".

For some reason I don't appreciate it when a question is asked in the manner that you asked it. I find it curt and sort of rude. I know that if I am asking someone of something, then a slight amount of courtesy would be in order. I am a professional designer giving free advise. It takes time to research what sink was used, what the paint color was, etc. - I can't possibly remember so many details for every job.

I like to do a little courtesy sandwich. It consists of an opening statement something like this, " Dear Stratton Design Group, Wow! what an inspiring design! So fresh and contemporary - it is exactly what I want in my dream bathroom and by the way you are not only a incredible and gifted designer, but quite dashing as well!... Yes, with this kind of sweet talking you have my attention and we got the fluff out of the way in the first sentence - Time for the second sentence - this is the "meat" of our courtesy sandwich (turkey, ham, meatball, etc). "Any chance you would share that really cool sink you have sourced for this bath, I am sure you looked at over a hundred sinks to find the perfect fit at the right bugeted price". I think to myself, how did she know? She is acknowledging my hard work (even if it was two hundred sinks). Now we move on to our last line..."Thank you, very much appreciated!" Yes! Gratitude still works...

Well how refreshing would that be? Of course I am exaggerating a bit here for my own entertainment, but it is time to put on our courtesy hats and at least fake it to get what you need.