To use marble or not
jvanasu
October 23, 2012
I am having a crisis over choosing my kitchen counters. I want honed Danby Imperial marble. I designed the whole kitchen around the idea of the beautiful line of white marble opening up my dining/kitchen space. Now, I keep noticing that my husband leaves coffee marks on the counter in the morning and does not think to wipe them up.

I am an artist and not a big cooking enthusiast. I painted my old kitchen counter tops five years ago, and put glass protectors by the stove and sink, and have had no trouble keeping them looking good.

Now I am afraid that if I go ahead with the expensive marble in the new kitchen that it will be source of problems between my husband and myself. I don't want to install a surface that becomes the occasion of me constantly having to remind him to wipe up after himself. He is not exactly a slob, but where his coffee ritual is concerned, he wants no interference or restrictions.

I am worried. How hard is it to live with marble? Please someone who has lived with it, give me some clue. It seems I have no other options but Formica, as my husband does not want tile. I don't like granite, I don't like Silestone, etc. Nothing looks quite like this marble, nor does it give the traditional feel that I'm after in this "nice" depression era kitchen

If you have time you can see my "new" choices and the "before" pictures at http://www.houzz.com/ideabooks/users/jvanasu
Look at Ideabook, Norwood Kitchen.
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
feeny