Kitchen Update Ideas for a rental (limited budget)

capiontayhasDecember 16, 2012
I'd appreciate any ideas from the community on how this kitchen can be updated. I imagine painting the cabinets, changing the hardware and counter top would be the most economical way to go. However, I am not very good at design and would appreciate your comments.
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
mauhanlie
I would pick up the black and white theme here. Your microwave, stove, coffee pot and fridge are black, so paint the cupboards white with gorgeous black handles. Or spray the existing ones black and put them back on. I would take the door off what I am guessing is the pantry, and hang a French chic curtain instead so the room feel less boxy and you don't have two doors opening onto each other. I would also change the door handles to something lighter. If your budget stretches, paint the floor tiles in a tone that would pull the look together.
1 Like    Bookmark   December 16, 2012 at 8:10AM
PRO
North Carolina Kitchens
Not good at Design? You got everything right! Paint the cabinets (use the paint designed for this), change the hardware to black or stainless not too modern, and get a new top. Since you have a galley kitchen many laminates will look great, at a fraction of the granite cost. If you pick a granite color your tops may even be mistaken for granite. I would get a Futura edge on the top not the old fashioned No Drip edge on your existing top.
1 Like    Bookmark   December 16, 2012 at 8:22AM
capiontayhas
Thank you NC Kitchens for the compliment and the laminate idea - Futura edge vs No drip edge. I am contemplating a laminate from Wilsonart - http://samples.wilsonart.com/p-434-milano-quartz-4726.aspx. I've painstakingly looked and think I've chosen the paint color as Riviera Sands (Behr). If I were to consider tile back splash what would you suggest? Should I remove the ledge over the sink and just paint?
    Bookmark   December 16, 2012 at 8:45AM
capiontayhas