Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
iamhopscotch

Rug to pull living room together. Please help!

iamhopscotch
9 years ago

Hello friends!

I have been decorating my new house for a couple of months now. I have a brown leather couch and grey side chairs. I am at a loss for what kind of rug will suit the room. I was thinking a black and white rug (stripes, maybe) but would that be too dark for the room? Any suggestions please?

Comments (40)

• everdebz
    9 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hi there. If you're hopscotch, then I'm double dutch, which I played growing up in the city... anyway I got a kick out of Paris and the boomerang - love! a rug for color? pattern? Have you considered something for coffee table? Under shelf 'decorated' with wicker etc. color from art. I know, that's only more little items.

iamhopscotch thanked everdebz
  • iamhopscotch
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Hi there, haha your comment about double dutch had me cracking up :) Thanks for noticing the pictures and the boomerang! I feel the room looks somewhat drab without a rug underneath, plus there is no other pattern in the room. They are mostly solids. Also, I don't like the ugly carpeting that much, figured I could hide it with a rug. Do you think the room looks ok without a rug?

• everdebz
    9 years ago

Well it's always better to see more of the room. What's on the windows? The rattan {?] could be an upholstered chair in a color....

• iamhopscotch
    Original Author
    9 years ago

This is the best shot of the windows, that I could get with all the light pouring in. Does this help? I have sheer white curtains with a white pattern- again pretty neutral and not much of a pattern.

• iamhopscotch
    Original Author
    9 years ago