Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dandcory

Living room lighting and layout help

D L
9 years ago
We just moved into our first house and we're stuck on how to layout the living room. Also, lighting can be a little dim and just doesn't seem even. Right now we're using what we have as we're hesitant to make any purchases until we have a plan.

We mainly use this room to socialize, read, and listen to music. We have a theater room we use for movies and tv.

We've entertained everything from sconces to can lights to lamps.

It took us a couple weeks to feel good about a layout.

We're open to all ideas especially those that are creative and outside the norm. Any thoughts please share!! Thanks!!

Comments (5)

• Carol Singletary
    9 years ago
    Hmmm. . .I am not a lighting expert, so take this for what it is worth.

The can lights over the fireplace appear to be too bright and focused. Seems to me a softer or more diffuse lighting there would help?

If you use this room for reading, then you need some lamps closer to the chairs. Have you considered an arc floor lamp, like the attached photo? It would allow you to plug into the wall, but then hang closer to your seating. Just a thought.
  • decoenthusiaste
    9 years ago