Style of home?
Gina Zelade
January 1, 2013 in Design Dilemma
Anyone have an idea of what style this home would be? It was built in 1933.
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
azbebe
http://www.visitdownersgrove.com/portals/0/misc/SearsHomeTourGuide2011.pdf - you got me going on this one - I found this website - and there were some similarities to the house you pictured - I really love the look of this home and can see so many possibilities with it - hope this helps
January 1, 2013 at 6:57PM   
claudiann
Storybook Art Deco. I think but I'm not an expert. I love this style. I have a coffee table book about storybook houses. I collect things...paintings, pottery etc. with Art Deco storybook. Clarice Cliff was an English ceramic painter who used this type of house in her designs. There is a painter on eBay who paints them also. Her user name is moonflower. On eBay there are a lot of vintage Christmas cards with homes like yours. If I won the lottery and could build any type of home it would be a storybook. Also. Look at pictures of storybook homes in California . There were popular in one community. I live in the Midwest but we have a few here too.
January 1, 2013 at 7:03PM   
claudiann
Ps. Just google storybook house and look at the images. Mary engerbreit also lived in one outside St. Louis. She had a coffee table book with photos of it inside and out. I am such a fan of hers and it was just georgeous .
January 1, 2013 at 7:09PM   
Gina Zelade
Thanks! I had no idea. This house is in the midwest, about half way between St. Louis and Kansas City.
January 1, 2013 at 7:51PM   
Gina Zelade
So could I replace the old screen and wooden doors with new doors painted red and keep the storybook look on this house?
January 1, 2013 at 8:04PM   
claudiann
I think it would be nice. In a lot of the paintings I've seen they paint the homes with a red roof and red door.
January 1, 2013 at 8:19PM   
claudiann
I wonder what was the color of the house before it was painted white?