Paint colour help or ?
blondish1
January 20, 2013 in Design Dilemma
My walls are BM bluff 338. I started painting BM stone white. It makes the tile surround look very yellow. What do I Do with the fireplace wall. I can reprint back to Bluff or another colour. I have recently added blue grey to the room with a rug but don't think I want to paint the wall that Colour. I had thought a lighter white but now not so sure.
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
Emily Hurley
Love your room. That fireplace is wonderful. Did you decide on a paint color? Would love to see how it turned out!
February 28, 2013 at 11:25am   
macrury
I would paint fireplace wall same as the others, Bluff 338..it has a very professional, classic look and the fireplace does all the talking.
February 28, 2013 at 11:32am   
blondish1
I did here is an updated Pic
February 28, 2013 at 11:42am     
blondish1
I painted the tiles around the FP as well - others were yellow looking.
February 28, 2013 at 11:42am     
dianahb
I only just saw this and was going to suggest that you paint that wall a deep gray color to go with the bluffs color. That looks perfect. I really like it. Very dramatic (in a good way).
February 28, 2013 at 11:53am   
blondish1
thanks so much, I am not usually a fan of feature walls, but I do like this one and yes dramatic is a good word.
February 28, 2013 at 12:14pm     
PRO
Marie Hebson's interiorsBYDESIGN Inc.
Hello blondish1, Marie here.

What's happened is your new paint colour has a bit of green undertone in it and it's making the cherry fire surround a richer tone -which is now reflecting on your travertine tiles.

The key to making this successful without painting again is to pick up a toss cushion with both yellow, cherry, trim and BM bluff 338 tones in it. Find a gorgeous bowl, or candles with the yellow/cream from your fireplace tiles - bring that colour along with the bluff 338 into the room - and it will look much, much better!