Is Benjamin Moore the preferred paint brand?
kittt29
February 1, 2013 in Design Dilemma
Just curious as almost every post on paint references this brand if its much superior to other brands? Are there any other comparable brands or something a bit lower in price, or in the long run is the higher quality going to pay off? Curious for my future painting projects! Thanks!
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
PRO
Good Manors, Inc.
I'm a design professional, and I must say that Benjamin Moore (preferably) or Sherwin Williams are well worth the higher costs. How often do you want to repaint? Spend a bit more upfront and be sure to use the right gloss level for your surfaces--I know you'll be pleased with the outcome!
0 Likes   February 1, 2013 at 11:25AM
PRO
PLATEMARK DESIGN
We use BM all the time - and Sherwin Williams is quite good as well. A poor paint quality can end in very disappointing results. Be sure to use the proper tinted primer if you'll be using dark colors to achieve the correct color.
0 Likes   February 1, 2013 at 11:31AM
kittt29
Thank you both! I figured as much when I saw that most designers on Houzz always refer to that brand. I will be moving soon and just plan on repainting a few rooms, but once I find something I like I usually keep it for awhile so for long term I would prefer the higher quality.
0 Likes   February 1, 2013 at 11:39AM
PRO
Eagledzines
Benjamin Moore and Sherwin Williams are good quality. I also like the colors of Ralph Lauren but don't have a lot of experience using it. Sherwin Williams paints seems a bit brighter to me. I like more muted paints usually and end up going with Benjamin Moore. Ralph Lauren has some very sophisticated colors in my opinion.
0 Likes   February 1, 2013 at 11:46AM
kimdee24
Benjamin Moore is definitely worth it. It covers great (sometimes in less coats than I'd expect), cleans up amazingly easily and stands up very well. I used a different brand this last time and wasn't as happy.