simple, inexpensive to build, contemporary/ modern home.
Conscious Construction Inc.
February 10, 2013 in Design Dilemma
I am a contractor and am planning a venture into my first spec home.

The concept:

-Design a 1-story, 1300sf or smaller, 3/2 house less than 39' wide with a single car garage.

-I want to go slightly modern/NW Modern. (Think shed roof(s), concrete floors and countertops, strategic interior wood accents, hardipanel or breckenridge and batton siding with some exposed wood)

-Simple footprint and very economical to build is very important.

The goal is to provide an alternative to the faux craftsmans that dominate the less expensive new construction In my area, I think there is a market for a well built, small home that has a little modern flair but can still fit into the existing neighborhoods.

I would love any advice, insight into my idea, or direction to facades/floorplans that could work. We have done most of our own design work (primarily remodels) up until now and would like to design (or tweak something existing) this one as well.

Thanks so much!
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
PRO
Norm Walters Construction Inc.
1300 sq feet is a bit small for a 3/2, I would be at 1500-1600 to make it a better seller.
February 10, 2013 at 10:06AM     
PRO
You are probably right. I am being a bit stubborn in feeling like we can design a place that doesn't feel cramped in the 1300sf range. I realize however, that many buyers are pretty caught up in the bottom line sf number.
February 10, 2013 at 10:10AM     
PRO
Norm Walters Construction Inc.
And those same buyers complain that everything is "builder grade" cabinets, countertops, flooring, etc. A race to the bottom benefits no one.
February 10, 2013 at 10:22AM     
franklin36