If remodeling a whole house, is it important that all bathrooms be tied in together as far as style, color etc
downtown1
March 7, 2013 in Design Dilemma
I am thinking of 1.a linear, modern, grey taupe, somewhat spalike, masculine master bath, 2.a light, white more traditional and whimsical children's bathroom and 3.a light white sleek guest bathroom (since it does not get natural light)
Would that work in the opinion of an architect, a designer and the houz community?
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
PRO
Ironwood Builders
A general theme of decor for the house is a good idea....hate to see the faux arts and crafts man cave in an otherwise sleek and modern house. But if the overall design aesthetic is similar an the difference is tone or texture or both, as long as there is separation between the bathrooms...no problem.
March 7, 2013 at 9:45am     
0825sam
I am not an expert, but with those descriptions I think that is absolutely fine - it doesn't sound like one is completely off from the others - not that that would necessarily even bother me in bathrooms, as I tend to think of as their own little oasis. I would care more about the bathroom complementing - without being matchy - to the room it's off of. In my house, the master is grey and white marble with contemporary fixtures; the guest bath is tans and browns and spa like with similar tile and fixtures as the master bath; and the kids' bath is cuter and more traditional. Pretty much what you are describing.
March 7, 2013 at 9:49am     
PRO
lewis + smith
I might try and bring the kid's bath a little closer in style to the other two. It can still have some whimsical features and have a more contemporary feel.
March 7, 2013 at 9:56am     
PRO
HERE Design and Architecture