Exterior facelift
kshanahan
March 10, 2013 in Design Dilemma
Need ideas to improve curb appeal. Tuckpointing? Trim color?
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
tinaobayonet
What do you think is wrong? Your landscaping is nice...the house looks very sweet. Is the paint on the trim above the door the same color as the two half arches and then window trim? Somehow it looks brighter in the pic (along with the window to the left of the door. The other windows completely on the left also look to be different and so completely get "lost" in this pic...although may be your intent? How big is your front yard? Again, lovely.
March 10, 2013 at 5:30am     
camillaworden
I can't comment on tuck pointing because I don't know what that is!! However, I am a landscaper and would suggest removing the tree to the right and possibly the really straight tree in the front to open up the view to the house. Add some island beds that focus your eye to the interesting front door and diversify the plantings beyond the boxwood blobs.
March 10, 2013 at 5:31am   
PRO
Dytecture
The photos is a bit small to see, but the house looks fine in the photo.
March 10, 2013 at 6:10am     
bevballew
Beautiful home. Yes bring back the stone. It is hard to see the red tuck pointing but it does not sound right. Would you want to paint the trim around the windows a dark brown? I would just trim up the two large trees and maybe add a landscaping bed in the grassy area...but I have that and it is a lot of work keeping it up so I would say don't unless you want more work.
March 10, 2013 at 6:39am   
decoenthusiaste
I'm having a hard time deciphering the triangle stuck above the stone-trimmed door and window. It seems totally out of place on your home.
March 10, 2013 at 6:49am   
bluenan
Take the single shutters off of the french doors to start, they're odd and unnecessary.
March 10, 2013 at 7:12am   
PRO
Arlene Warda, Architecture+Interior Design