Lighting gurus: what are my options here?
Jillian
March 17, 2013 in Design Dilemma
I'm a total novice here. Am I stuck getting another swag chain chandelier for this space? What would be an appropriate size replacement? The width of the breakfast nook area where it will hang is 12 ft. If you can see in other photo, previous owner hung only 2 modern mini pendants near, but not over, kitchen Island, giant ugly Game of Thrones chandelier in nook, and then contemporary brushed nickel and dark wood fan in family room. Very schizophrenic design, or lack thereof.
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
fuzinav
The swag is necessary if you want the light centered and want to avoid moving the wiring. Cheapest option is another swag, but it does not have to be on a chain! Look to see if there is one you like.
March 17, 2013 at 6:28pm   
Jillian
I'm so out of the loop. Would a pendant style still anchor in the same way and "swag over" on a hook, or are the pendant cords too rigid to allow that? Are some cords flexible and others not? Thanks for any info. Here's an example of what I mean by pendant cord
March 17, 2013 at 6:46pm   
Victoria Pierce
NOT sure the swag needs to be replaced... BUT the others sure do... try changing them out first.. .
I like the fan but it does not appear to go with the lamp... what is your style , your furniture... More info.. then more choices...
March 17, 2013 at 6:51pm   
Jillian