Blank canvas bedroom
MJ Forester
April 18, 2013 in Design Dilemma
I need help pulling my bedroom together. It's a blank canvas as I've purchased nothing yet and have no idea where to start. I'm not good at mixing colors but I like the painting and would love to work bright yellow in. Any ideas??
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
decoenthusiaste
You already nailed it and have the pillows too. Just work with the colors in your art.
April 18, 2013 at 4:23pm   
MJ Forester
Thank you for the help!! What color/kind of headboard and what kind of drapes would look good??
April 18, 2013 at 4:31pm   
anne dee

have you considered bringing in red/black/white with yellow as the accent similar to this inspiration pic
As you will notice in the pic of the inspiration the blue in the art work is the only blue color in the room which makes it stand out. You could do the same idea with the yellow in your art work. ie yellow in your art work would be the only yellow in the room. It would look smashing!!
April 18, 2013 at 5:00pm     
MJ Forester
I love that idea... but what drapes would work??
April 18, 2013 at 5:14pm   
anne dee
the color of the walls in the inspiration pic is benjamin moore crisp khaki. Color of the drapes could match the wall color in a tone on tone fabric on curtain hardware that shows at the top. the tone on tone curtain material could match the print of the 2accessory pillows on the bed to tie it together. I think oil rubbed bronze curtain hardware would be nice. Click under Veranda House Hotel for more inspiration
April 18, 2013 at 5:35pm     
PRO
Carolyn Albert-Kincl, ASID
I would look for a simple square top headboard in the same color as your night stands. Then I'd paint the bed and window walls two or three shades lighter than the yellow in the art over the bed. Either take the art with you or pick up some paint chips from the paint store to determine what color that is. Leave the other walls the color they are or paint them white.