Kitchen remodel help! Single, clueless man.
cpdkenny
April 21, 2013 in Design Dilemma
Hello all,

I am new to kitchen design, a male in my 20's with really no idea. My kitchen is extremely small to go with my small house, but I am going to knock a wall down and open it up a bit. I would just like color scheme ideas. The look of dark (espresso) cabinets has always intrigued me, but I have been reading to keep it light in small kitchens. Would I be better off with a cream color cabinet with a dark glaze? If so, what granite countertop colors would go with that? Or can I get away with darker cabinets and a light countertop. Which would be more masculine and in style longer? Thanks!!
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
patriciarhall
Is the wall that you are taking down the one we see with the opening and door into the kitchen? If so, what is your thinking on the flooring from the living space in to the kitchen? It appears that the knocked down wall could make room for a peninsula with lower cabinets opening to the kitchen interior and seating around the peninsula on the outer side. Can't tell what kind of light fixture you have in the kitchen, but it looks a bit dim in there. With it open, you can choose light or dark cabinets or countertop. Flooring and lighting need to be addressed. Since your cabinets appear to be painted, I assume you intend to repaint and keep them?
April 21, 2013 at 12:30pm   
patriciarhall
also, consider other paint combinations: http://www.houzz.com/photos/eclectic/kitchen/p/8
April 21, 2013 at 12:37pm   
cpdkenny