Need help with living room
bumpkus
April 22, 2013 in Design Dilemma
This room has never felt right to me. Should I take the TV cabinet out and figure out some place else for TV? Too monochromatic - gold furniture, gold rug, gold paint on walls?
Would love some feedback please!
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
boolundwall
You need more color...large house plants would look great.
April 22, 2013 at 6:02PM     
Connie
I am not an interior designer, but in mho, I feel like your various pieces "clash". tv unit and rug are too modern, to suit the couch, table and lamp, which are very traditional. personally, I would swap rug for something darker and traditional, like a red/gold Persian rug, and also change/paint the tv cupboard. I think a dark wood would (wood wood!!) look better. nice bones though. and possibly rearrange the furniture-it appears like a very "open room", with lots of doors/pathways? which can be bad feng shui, and make you feel unsettled. I would put the couch (or a screen/something) across the side where the front door is (where you currently have the chair, and try to enclose the area more.
April 22, 2013 at 6:05PM     
jdmaher
Th eTV unit is not too big, but it is very conspicuous because it its a very stark white and far more contemporary than the rest of your pieces.
April 22, 2013 at 6:10PM     
bumpkus
Here's a pic I forgot to add - the TV unit is next to white fireplace. Also feels out of balance on that wall. Do you ever wish you could just start totally over?!
April 22, 2013 at 6:17PM     
Tania D
Not a designer, but I think the tv unit's white is wayyyyyyyyyyyy too stark. Maybe pull a colour from a cushion to paint the unit? Also, the painting over the couch seems a bit too low. OK...and now looking at the pic again, it's definitely your wall unit. Change the colour and it won't be the "white elephant" in the room! :) good luck!!
April 22, 2013 at 6:18PM     
Connie