What is the name of the black seat cover material on midcentury teak chairs?
orangecamera
April 25, 2013 in Design Dilemma
I have some chairs similar to these, and I want to recover the seats in this black material, which seems to have been very common when the chairs were new. It looks like vinyl to me, but I can't really tell. I want to use the most authentic material I can find. So, please, if you know what this is I would love to hear from you.

Also, I think the chairs are teak. And mine are pretty dirty (I've been collecting them from different sources for a few months). My plan is to clean the wood with Murphy's Oil Soap, and then use Teak Oil or Danish Oil on them. Is that a good idea?

Thank you.
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
Nancy Walton
It looks like Naugahyde, which was a trade name back in the 60s when it looks like these chairs were made. The term is now loosely applied to any fabric-backed vinyl upholstery fabric.
April 25, 2013 at 5:04pm     
PRO
Jane Antonacci Interior Design
The fabric is either a black leather or a fake leather, i.e. vinyl or naugahyde. I don't think you need the Murphy's. It will cause the wood to soak up less oil as there will already be oil on it from the soap. That will keep it from absorbing the teak oil. I think you will clean and lubricate with the teak oil. When you first start rubbing it it, you cloth will probably turn black from the dirt on it. If it doesn't, consult your local wood finishing products at your local paint store.
April 25, 2013 at 5:04pm     
April 25, 2013 at 5:09pm   
orangecamera
Thank you Nancy and Jane. I'll look to see if I can find genuine Naugahyde locally.

Jane, do you mean the teak oil will actually help remove built up dirt and grime from the chairs? Do I just apply it and rub it off, or do I need to let it soak in a bit? I don't want to wind up trapping the dirt under the oil.
April 25, 2013 at 5:13pm   
orangecamera
Thank you, Judy! You posted while I was typing :)