bdaniels
August 3, 2011 in Design Dilemma
Hey houzz fans, I'd love to hear your input on my yard design.

I have a very large pool (80,000 litres) that died. I would like to put a pond in its place. I have no experience with ponds but I think they'll be easier than the pool!
My yard area is about 1 acre and in a very private rural yard. I have 30 acreas total but the yard part is about an acre.
I've been renovating my house and the inside is asian / modern inspired design with clean lines and natural materials.

I've always loved natural ponds and Japanese tea houses - but now that I'm looking for my final design for the pond I'm wondering if a modern simple geometric style might be incorporated to go well with the modern/asian inside of the house.
The yard has a lot of elevation changes and needs a lot of work. The deck should be replaced and it currently blocks the view of the pool from the house.

I'm in a cold climate (Saskatchewan) and I'm not wanting fish.

I have attached some photos to this post. Here are some notes:
- The pergola stays: it blocks the only view of our neighbour. It also holds solar panels for our now dead pool.
- the pool is surrounded by stamped concrete - its 4" thick and would be a shame to waste so I'd only want to do that if the design needs it to go.
- the area under the pergola needs to be changed to something other than grass - its simply too hard to mow and it gets in the water.
- I have a small wood fired chofu hot tub I should relocate in this design
- the yard has many elevations and a stream is not out of the question to take water from my eaves.

So what do you think - what should I consider? What should I not consider? What might work? What will not work?
Thanks in advance!
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
dehka
I think Japanese pond will combine both modern style and asian style. I think this site will help you a lot
http://www.raleighlandscape.com/Watergardens%20&%20Koi%20ponds.htm