How to make the couches work?
Laura
May 18, 2013 in Design Dilemma
I have two forest green couches that are terribly outdated, but I'm a student on a budget and they were free. I'm looking for ideas to draw attention away from them in the room and make the space look more updated. I'm renting so any permanent changes to the room are out of the question. Ideas?
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
bmatthia
Buy some neutral cloth (these couches are small, you may find a good deal on the "remnants" table at any sewing store or general merchandise store that sells cloth) or (if you can spend a little money) get a pre-made slipcover (they sell on Overstock or Ikea or . . ., they csan be as cheap as 20 bucks a piece); if you are good with sewing and crafts, you could even consider making new permanent covers for the couch (not too difficult if you buy upholstery pins/ nails and have a second person to help you). Those things go a long way...
0 Likes   May 18, 2013 at 8:58AM
creeser
A throw and some pillows. A cream throw folded and laid in the center with some bright pillows that bring out the colors of your artwork.
[houzz=Black + White Office][houzz=Soledad Alzaga Interior Design][houzz=Mt. Shadows]
0 Likes   May 18, 2013 at 9:20AM
apple_pie_order
Your artwork is contemporary or modern, the sofas are country. The best thing you can do is cover the sofas with slipcovers. Or just ignore the mismatch in style by going for an eclectic look. For eclectic to work, you need to carry through a color scheme. So: add a couple black pillows (to reference the black picture frames) and a black throw.
1 Like   May 18, 2013 at 9:36AM
Laura
Thanks for the great ideas! What colour would you recommend for a slip cover? I'll definitely follow through with the coloured pillows idea.
0 Likes   May 18, 2013 at 10:26AM
bmatthia