Patio Privacy: I need help finding a solution
One Man and A Hammer
May 20, 2013 in Design Dilemma
Last year I added a stone patio. The only problem I need to resolve is privacy: how to add privacy with a style that fits the home?
On one side of me I have a neighbor whose kitchen window overlooks one side. The other side is a neighbor with a new pool and many pool parties on the weekends. I'm not as concerned with noise as I am with being able to sit on my patio without any privacy.
I am an avid woodworker so building a wood structure would not be a problem. I do like a contemporary feel.
All ideas and thoughts are welcome!
Thank you in advance for your input.
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
PRO
A Design Alliance , Inc.
what about adding post that follow the perimeter of the patio , with weather friendly rods and the use of a Sunbrella type fabric that blends with the house exterior and tie backs that can be released when needed for privacy ?
0 Likes   May 20, 2013 at 4:28AM
carolins
Would planting a hedge or shrubs around the boundary of your property not be a solution? Would be ideal if your boundary was somewhere near the pool. Would only have to be as high as their fence and that way you won't be closed in, but you'll have more privacy.
2 Likes   May 20, 2013 at 4:32AM
carolins
Otherwise you could build something like this and have flowering climbers growing on them if you like:
Entertaining Space 1
Entertaining Space 2
6 Likes   May 20, 2013 at 4:35AM
Margo
I would create a pergola of sorts. I would create some side walls framed out like windows and hang large ferns or baskets of flowers in each section. I would use copper piping as the roof of the structure. If you are a wood worker this should be fun!
0 Likes   May 20, 2013 at 4:36AM
MAlps
I would just do a bunch of tall potted plants or bushes. They are very in style these days
0 Likes   May 20, 2013 at 4:38AM
PRO
One Man and A Hammer
Design Alliance,