Green thumb needed. Why is this happening to my basil?
Anna Cabo
June 15, 2013 in Design Dilemma
I don't have a green thumb at all, but I really want to grow an herb garden. I am a chef and I love cooking with basil, for this reason I wanted to first start my garden by keeping a basil plant alive. This is my second plant but the leaves keep getting holes as if some bug is eating them, which I'm sure it's what's happening. I've found some black things on them that resembles coffee ground. What is it and how can I get rid of them? Please help and thank you
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
tcufrog
Take the leaves to a locally owned garden center. They will know the local pests and how best to get rid of them.
2 Likes   June 15, 2013 at 7:09AM
Anna Cabo
Thank you both for the advice!
1 Like   June 15, 2013 at 7:30AM
Anna Cabo
Genevieve thanks I checked n no worm, just something tha reassembles coffee ground
0 Likes   June 16, 2013 at 12:09PM
janaline
Check at Night! You will find...either Slugs, Rolly Polly's or Worm like critters! Good luck! It's happening to me NOW! It's such a Pain! These are my pic from 4days ago as they eat my flowers;( ~Jan
1 Like   June 16, 2013 at 12:22PM
decoenthusiaste
Have you planted companion plants in your herb garden? Do you have some frogs to help you out? Slugs will drown themselves in a shallow pan of beer! Lady bugs and lacewings can help your pest problem.
2 Likes   June 16, 2013 at 12:31PM
Anna Cabo
Janaline. Sorry about your plants, ill check at nite. Thanks
1 Like   June 18, 2013 at 6:24PM
Anna Cabo
Decoenthusiate .. I will try the bear idea and see what happens. I don't have any companion plant. Which one can I plant?
1 Like   June 18, 2013 at 6:26PM
printesa
It might be slugs or caterpillars (the black stuff can be the caterpillars' droppings). You could try to make what is called Cornell mixture
To 1 gallon of water, mix the following ingredients:
1 tablespoon baking soda
1 tablespoon horticultural oil