My kitchen needs help! I'll take any ideas!

Chris AnglinJune 15, 2013
I was thinking of painting the cabinets, walls and putting in tile. My problem is what colors?
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
Allison Burnfield McAteer
If you have a little bit of money I would consider building at microwave coffee bar area where you have the cutting table with the mixer. your accessories are orange. What about a color that coordinates with it. I love the orange, blue and green in this picture.
1 Like    Bookmark   June 15, 2013 at 10:31AM
Chris Anglin
That's a great idea! What color would coordinate best on the cabinets?
    Bookmark   June 15, 2013 at 10:57AM
Allison Burnfield McAteer
I like he blue ceilings for cabinet color but I'm not a professional.
    Bookmark   June 15, 2013 at 1:49PM
Nancy Walton
Have you considered refacing the cabinets? If the boxes are in good shape it would be about half the cost of replacing the whole kitchen.
2 Likes    Bookmark   June 15, 2013 at 2:31PM
Chris Anglin
what do you mean by refacing?
    Bookmark   June 15, 2013 at 2:37PM
PRO
Madden, Slick & Bontempo, Inc
I love your chalkboard wall!
1 Like    Bookmark   June 15, 2013 at 3:00PM
Chris Anglin
Thank you!!! :)
    Bookmark   June 15, 2013 at 3:06PM
Fred S
You don't have to reface the cabinets to paint them.
    Bookmark   June 15, 2013 at 3:09PM
Nancy Walton
No, Fred, refacing, instead of paint. Chris, refacing means new doors, and a wood laminated to the exposed faces of the cabinet boxes. It certainly is cheaper to paint, if you're thinking of replacing cabs sometime in the future, but just want to freshen up the space. With refacing, you have more options than just what color to paint (wood, finishes, etc.). If I were to paint, I think I would go for cream with a glaze, but I can't tell if your cabinet doors have enough detail to glaze. Cream is a nice color, because white might end up yellowing over time anyway. Will you be replacing countertop and appliances?