Help with Living Room Decor and More
Ken Lipsett
June 16, 2013 in Design Dilemma
Hello need help with décor & layout of this liv room. I bought this 1/2 dbl to be next to my parents and take care of them. Stripped it down new wire,plumb etc. I stay next door with my dad now and come here to relax and "get away" but want to finish the work in progress. Walls are Irish Cream I have a old science table solid oak that I had refinished that is in front of the window pictured need to do something with it. room is 28.5 ft long (15 ft to the steps) and 16'6" wide to the steps then 13'4" the rest of the 13.5 ft I am a 911 Systems manager and a part time funeral home person so my life is hectic I would like something I could be proud of another note I have 8 indirect light above in ceiling and central air if that matters THANK YOU IN ADVANCE FOR ANY AND ALL HELP!!!
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
nancy22032
If there was some way to pair up that magnificent sunburst mirror and the large oak desk it would b e great. The mirror so overshadows the small table under it now. You have a very interesting large space but (like mine) it's cluttered which does not make it feel welcoming and relaxing. Since the room is long, cutting it down the middle
with the sofa would make it seem even longer and more narrow. Could you arrange the furniture & TV into one area and set up the desk, piano etc.into another area of the room? I am afraid this is not very clear but I hope it helps. There are fairly inexpensive units you could get to incorporate the TV and stereo equipment into one space
which would eliminate some of the cluttered look. Best wishes!
June 17, 2013 at 12:32am   
Ken Lipsett
thanks