Paint wood panelling or not?!
golfbroad
June 17, 2013 in Design Dilemma
Should I paint this wall? It is a cathedral wall, covered in real maple wood strips. I prefer a lighter "New England" look. All other walls are painted in yellow/burgundy. I attached the family room photo where the wall goes up to the mezzanine. I was thinking of also bead-boarding the ceiling and not sure what to do with the fake wood beams. Your suggestions would be really appreciated!
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
jabber629
I'd paint it white for sure. It's just to overwhelming and dated looking otherwise.
June 17, 2013 at 3:05pm   
grannythedecorator
We've a 168 yr. old home that we spent two years restoring. The wdwk. had many years of white paint on it and we spent agonizing hours stripping all the white paint off down to the natural look of the wood....well, a few years ago, I started painting all that wood out back to white once again and it is honestly the thing that made the biggest difference in the house for the positive....it made everything seem so much brighter and bigger and cleaner looking even though the house is already big. I think the look of wood is more a "guy" thing then a "girl" thing. I understand how agonizing making a decision like that can be because once it's painted it's painted until you or the next person decides to strip it down....have you ever considered whitewashing it instead. This is a very popular and up-to-date way bringing a brand new look to your home that looks so clean, fresh and larger.....if you go to HGTV and look for Sarah Richardson's site there, you can view many of the homes that she has done. I personally love her work...not the best pics but it gives you the idea of the before and after...
June 17, 2013 at 3:07pm   
PRO
Vastyan, LLC
Definitely paint it. Maybe even the brick too
June 17, 2013 at 3:21pm     
felixgrantham
Agree, paint wood & the brick. Or at least a whitewash for a cottage-y look.