Living Room isn't working together
Kristi S.
June 25, 2013 in Design Dilemma
I love the things in this room, I just don't think these things are working together. I am waiting on another matching chair to be delivered. I'm not sure what I need next. I think I need a rug (what colors?). Also I need something on the wall above the chair, but what else?
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
sugarcakes2
I'm not a pro, but I think it would help if you painted the walls a different color. Maybe white or gray
6 Likes   June 25, 2013 at 8:10AM
Brenda
For me the main issue is the wall color ... that fleshy tan doesn't complement the grey.
8 Likes   June 25, 2013 at 8:10AM
decoenthusiaste
Try hanging art by the entertainment unit so its center is at 60" above the floor. Lower the piece above the sofa to 5" above it. Your mirror is not reflecting anything beautiful or interesting, so I'd remove it. Do you have a dining room with chandelier to be reflected? Between the windows would have been where I would have hung TV on the wall with a credenza underneath. Then you could have floated the furniture in the center on a large area rug to make the space more cozy. I might have suggested a gray zebra area rug, but your coffee/hassock is already providing that pattern. Flank the sofa with the two tables and add table lamps. Put a live ficus behind the chair. It should love the window and will add something living and green.
2 Likes   Thanked by Kristi S.    June 25, 2013 at 8:12AM
PRO
Dytecture
A rug would definitely help tie the entire space together. The wall color is a bit tan and clashes with the sofa and TV unit. Consider the following color.

1 Like   June 25, 2013 at 8:16AM
PRO
Zabet Builders Inc
sometimes its best to let the color play on you
0 Likes   June 25, 2013 at 8:19AM
PRO
Gantt's Decorating