What to do with 1980s closets?
jbrmit
July 6, 2013 in Design Dilemma
This is my first time posting. I have a guest room with cut-outs above the closet. Also, the closet doors are sliding mirrors. Hellooo 1980!

What should I do with the funky cut outs above the closets? And what about the closet doors? Any other suggestions for making this an inviting guest room would be welcome!

Thanks!
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
crp1234
I think the doors are fine. I would just cover the shelf with drywall - that will modernize the space. People still buy these doors.
July 6, 2013 at 5:56pm   
Keitha
I would close in the awkward niche and replace the mirrored doors with wood doors. This would be a fairly easy and inexpensive update.
July 6, 2013 at 6:12pm   
chemayne
Mirrored wardrobe doors that look in good nick as do yours should be left alone. It's what it reflects that's more important.

Crisp white bedding with a complementing accent colour in throws and accessories finishes the look of your light blue guestroom. Some visual examples:
Bountiful
Du classique au contemporain
Private Waterfront Residence on Aberdeen Creek
Laguna Cottage

Lighting
I think taller table lamps would look better. Some examples that won't break the bank.
Crystal Table Lamp
JONSBO BÄRBY Table lamp

Punch it up a notch with these
Back Bay Orange & Blue Hook Pillow
orange coral fan coastal pillow on blue

Artwork
White Love Birds, Blue/Orange by The Yumi Yumi Shop
Flower Art
July 6, 2013 at 6:21pm      Thanked by jbrmit
pattiegoode