Living Room Renovation
lesmiles4
July 7, 2013 in Design Dilemma
Hi everyone! This is my first time on here. My husband and I are moving into a small, quaint little home that needs some renovation. The home has solid oak wood floors underneath the carpet that have never been used. So excited! I want to stain them a little darker as I don't like the yellow tint in the color now. I love Sherwin Williams' mindful gray paint color for the walls but fear I may be going too boring and generic. Any ideas for this room? Hoping for a rustic, cozy feel, with light grays, dark browns, white, etc. but would love some color that pops.
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
lesmiles4
Here are more photos!
July 7, 2013 at 8:38pm   
2taniya
My first thought was to use some colors from your sofa - assuming that is your furniture - and then I saw your dark red/burgandy chair. That might be your second color after the gray walls - perhaps you could do an area rug in that hue or some pillows on the sofa or some candles on the side table in that red color. Or a red centerpiece or candles on the dining table. Sorry - I can't see what is on there now. Then perhaps some green as that also appears to be in the sofa. Scrolled black iron designs to hang on the walls should help with the rustic feel but will also be modern and airy/open. You can always put some sheer or solid drapes on the edge of the window - they don't have to close - or you can scarf the window to add a swath of color. Your fireplace mantel will also be someplace that attracts the eye so you want to add your color scheme there and perhaps a picture or sculptures or a mirror of an interesting design. You have a lot of great bones to work with - you will have fun!!
July 7, 2013 at 8:49pm   
lesmiles4