Need colour suggestions for exterior
Rebecca Dawn
July 18, 2013
Hello - I just joined this site, and it looks pretty neat!

We have a 1940s small red brick house, and we recently just got new windows and a new storm door installed. The windows and door are white, but the fascia and soffit is a creamy/beige colour.

We will be getting landscaping done in September, and before then I would like to do the following:

- Paint the front door
- Paint, remove, replace or do something different with the shutters
- Resurface or paint the front steps and railing

I am looking for suggestions for colour, as I would love our home to look quaint and cottagy. I love bright colours (was thinking teal for the front door), but I am hesitant to introduce too many colours to the palette.

Any suggestions would be great! I am new to this home-ownership and decorating, so I'd love to see what other great minds come up with.

I have included a couple photos - some with the old windows/door, and one with the new windows, just installed yesterday!

-Rebecca
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
cfollowell
The shutters are too small. Remove them and see what you think about no shutters. If the windows look too bare for your taste, add the correct size. If you can afford to resurface, brick on the porch and stairs would be nice along with painted wood railings. I'd remove the evergreens near the railing to open up the entrance as well as the small jungle along the left side of the driveway. A large bed of hostas that surrounds the tree and flows toward the driveway would soften the yard. Also trim up the tree in the yard so there are no low-hanging branches. The small shutters and messy yard are what I see first, not the color.
3 Likes    Bookmark   July 18, 2013 at 10:01AM
decoenthusiaste
You may not have the budget now, but down the road I'd look to modifying the entire facade of the house to replicate the two gables shown in this photo.

2 Likes    Bookmark   July 18, 2013 at 10:19AM