I'm a newbie: please help me find a GC!
tykim1229
July 18, 2013 in Design Dilemma
Which aspects of construction is important for a GC to do himself versus subbing out? For example, one GC I spoke with said he does all the foundation and flooring himself and subs out the rest. Is this good, bad, unnecessary? Any thoughts?
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
samsamyd
I'm new at this too, but my first guess is that I'd make sure that the GC does the part I was most particular or concerned about -- OR was willing to let me meet his sub-contractor who did that part. If I'm doing a bathroom and have my heart set on the star attraction being floor tile mosaic, I would want to meet the person doing the tiling first to see if we had the same notion of 'quality workmanship'. If I'm fussy about cabinetry (since woodworking is a hobby of mine), I'd want to want to have a detailed interview with the cabinet maker. Otherwise, I'd go for a GC who does the structural stuff himself - because you can't dress up or 'fix' bad structure --- if the bones aren't right, the body will look wrong.
1 Like   July 18, 2013 at 9:54PM
PRO
Garza Concepts
The easiest way to put is is that a Plummer does not do electrical work not the framer does landscape. A General Contractor supervises all experts in each field, it's very expensive to employ all of these people in one company. You can hire each sub but you are doing the supervision and you are responsible
0 Likes   July 18, 2013 at 10:11PM
libradesigneye