Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
uccellinika

Totally need help with my kitchen

Kim Uccellini
10 years ago
last modified: 10 years ago
My 110 year old house has a kitchen with 8 openings so therefore...no walls. I also have a back kitchen which houses the sink, some cabinets, and the DW. The front kitchen has the refridgerater and the stove but no cabinets but a great built in. The fridge sits in front of the doorway to the back kitchen. Before I decide to turn my Dining room into my eat-in kitchen and my "kitchen" into my mudroom/craftroom I thought I'd ask the experts if they have any ideas on how to make my Kitchen actually work as a kitchen. Any ideas?

Comments (45)

• brickln
    10 years ago
    Sorry- I think I need a floor plan for this one!
  • Kim Uccellini
    Original Author
    10 years ago
    will work on this and get it up on the site
  • PRO
    Main Line Kitchen Design
    10 years ago
    As an kitchen designer I can tell you that until a professional kitchen designer has measured your space and worked on a design you really haven't begun the process of renovating a tough space like yours. Shop around to find someone that's good, specializes in kitchens, and will be honest with you. Often the initial plans designers come up with they will show you free of charge or for a nominal fee.

This is not something that you can do well on Houzz. Even measuring is very difficult for an older home like yours, and there are many cost saving tricks kitchen designers use to fix a space. like raising a window without doing structural work by adding an outside flowerbox under the new higher window. A range is very dangerous without countertop on both sides and there are many other issues that you need to resolve when you redesign the kitchen. Houzz has the Find Local Pros as a place to start looking for a kitchen designer. Look for a designer with many positive reviews.