I need some advice for this garden.
thankfully
July 25, 2013 in Design Dilemma
This is on a slope. Advice is needed to help me find a solution. How can I prevent the soil from running over the brick after rain or watering? We thought about digging a trench and filling with rock. the middle of the path will have stepping stone surrounded by small pebbles.
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
July 25, 2013 at 11:00am     
thankfully
Thank you so much for taking time to give me advice. Your garden is BEAUTIFUL!!!
July 25, 2013 at 11:06am   
jeepflyer
I second Judy's idea. Use something more substantial than what looks to be leftover brick. One of the biggest mistakes I see (and I'm no expert by any stretch) is people not adequately sectioning off a "garden" from the rest of the yard. I can't tell from the picture but is there another edging of some sort starting in the lower left corner? If you have an area that large, you need something larger to not be dwarfed by the size of the space. Again, looking at the picture Judy posted, those are significantly larger bushes (and more of them) with the smaller plants like your daisies mixed in among them. It doesn't look like you would need to get rid of what you have, maybe just move them around to make larger holes for a more significant plant. I'm partial to ornamental grasses myself.
July 25, 2013 at 11:09am      Thanked by thankfully
thankfully
I thank you for your thoughts. This is a work in progress so I appreciate your help. Here is a photo of the garden, it is on the side of my house.
July 25, 2013 at 11:18am   
jeepflyer