Need help for new condo - kitchen and colors
gsweeney55
August 28, 2013 in Design Dilemma
I have just retired and am buying a brand new condo - just being built. I get to pick kitchen, colors, etc. (first time in my whole life!) I have NO experience with this type of thing so looking to all of you for help and ideas.

Kitchen: I attached a couple of pictures. This is one that belongs to someone else. It is a small, compact kitchen.So my question -- dark or light cabinets? Ideas of color combos -- I want it to have some "punch". I plan to add a pantry cabinet to the left of that cabinet that is just hanging there -- and thought about angling the island? Thoughts?

Living area -- the kitchen opens up to the living/dinigh area. Oak wood floors. I have dark walnut dining set. I will be getting a new living room set so ideas there would be helpful as well - colors for walls, rugs, any pics would be awesome.

Thank you in advance for all your ideas and help.
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
groveraxle
Congratulations on your retirement and your new condo!

I like the contrast of dark cabinets with oak floors. I also like the idea of a pantry cabinet, but I'd keep it narrow and make the wall space on each side of the slider symmetrical. I wouldn't angle the island, though you might consider keeping the kitchen side parallel and angling the other side so it would be a trapezoid shape.

I looked at your kitchen ideabook and see you have lots of backsplash ideas. One thing to note: you'll get a cleaner look if you eliminate the integral 4" backsplash on the counter and just do tile (or whatever material you choose) from the bottom of the upper cabinets all the way down to the counter top.

2 Likes   Thanked by gsweeney55    August 28, 2013 at 6:20AM
PRO
Mary Dancey Interiors