Help with Kitchen Walls! Please!
belleandlucy
August 31, 2013 in Design Dilemma
So I decided to paint the kitchen walls. In preparation, I took down some shelves and discovered that there are 4 layers of paint that is peeling off. It appears the first layer is an oil base, the house was built in the 50's. What I discovered also is holes, little ones that were never patched. Please help me with do I hire someone to do this job? The kitchen is 9x10. Or do I suck it up and do the job myself knowing this is going to be tedious and time consuming. I know I will need to kilz it, patch holes, etc. so painting is a bit down the road. Oh, also the walls are plaster, and the green there are two layers of different colors, really smooth/shiny paint. Also what is the cost of having someone to do the work? I am a teacher by day working 4 part time jobs so I am not sure if I am able to work on the project. Do I need to worry about lead? Thank you so much:)
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
PRO
R H Kitchen and Bath Ltd
Yes you should worry about lead. Get a lead testing kit and test the paint before you start sanding and patching etc, etc. I don't know if this is an option for you or not but I would spend the money on replacing the plaster walls with drywall.
0 Likes   August 31, 2013 at 4:55PM
PRO
Ironwood Builders
Yes, you need to worry about lead. Scraping is not so much a problem as sanding, but precautions must be taken regardless. Any contractor you hire to deal with this needs to be EPA certified. You can do it on your own, but I highly recommend you look through the EPA website and search out the proper protective gear and cleaning techniques. Certification is an eight hour class and $275. Cheap when you consider that lead poisoning can cause learning disabilities, brain function issues, liver and kidney problems, coma and death. Hope I scared you a little...the stuff is POISON and is in the paint of any home built before 1977.
0 Likes   August 31, 2013 at 5:02PM