Need help for budget kitchen refurbishment
Marcelle Sutton
September 30, 2013 in Before & After
Hi, I am planning to refurbish my kitchen which I have not touched since i moved in 10 years ago I want to replace the benchtop, splash back, floors, repaint (ceiling and walls throughout house) and possibly replacing the microwave shelf unit for something more stylish. Thus far I am considering black granite for the benchtop and a wood look timber laminate for the floor. I thought I might use a whitish subway tile for the splashback with maybe a thin black horizonatal stripe tile running through it midway. It has been suggested to me that I should paint the rafters and ceiling white - (they are currently green in the kitchen and brown in the lounge) any ideas? I am not very good at all this, so any advice would be welcome. I do think that just a few changes could make quite a transformation, though.
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
PRO
Granite Transformations
I like the idea of the wood flooring. Any chance you could sand the rafters down and stain them to match?

As for the paint color, I'd recommend Revere Pewter by Benjamin Moore.

I think our Nero Stella granite would look great in your kitchen, along with our diamond subway tiles. You can see here- http://www.granitetransformations.com/southjersey/products/granite-countertops/colors/
tiles.

Good luck with your project, hope this helps!
   Thanked by Marcelle Sutton    September 30, 2013 at 2:54PM
PRO
Maguire
I'm in the USA, I mention it because I don't think you are. We call bench tops and splash backs, counter tops and backsplash. Might be differences in current tastes, styles. I like your idea of a subway tile, simple and clean, but not crazy about the black stripe. That's come in fashion and is out now here.
I'd paint your rafters all a dark brown unless you hate them and want them to disappear, then go with the ceiling color. I really like your beams and high ceilings.