At a loss... need help picking a rug to go with my patterned sofa!
sivster
October 9, 2013 in Design Dilemma
I'm new to decorating and would appreciate any advice / links! I am trying to pick a rug that would look great in my space. I really like patterns but I'm not sure if I could pull off a patterned rug with my patterned sofa. I also like colours but again I don't want to overwhelm the space. Any thoughts on patterned vs solid? Colour vs. neutral? Any links would also be really helpful! Also, please note that we have a silver and white table with chairs that still need to be picked, so that's flexible. I've attached pics as well. Thanks so much!
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
decoenthusiaste
The arc lamp, chaise, pouf and coffee table seem quite contemporary compared to your sofa. I could see a flokati half way under or thrown over the foot of the chaise. Maybe a bordered sisal for the sofa, but I'm not sure I'd want such divergent styles quite so close to each other.
Ideabook: 10 Fresh Takes on Flokati Rugs
Chevron Sisal with Cotton Border Rug
1 Like   Thanked by sivster    October 9, 2013 at 7:58PM
sivster
Thanks... yeah the mismatch is likely the crux of the problem. Your idea to have 2 different rugs is interesting. What do you think about this rug to tie everything together? http://www.crateandbarrel.com/decorating-and-accessories/all-rugs/denim-rug/f53335
Or maybe a striped rug?
0 Likes   October 9, 2013 at 8:26PM
karemore55