Looking to Talk With Someone Building a House
Ken Mazaika
October 22, 2013
Hello,

I'm a university student, who is currently working on a project about people in the process of building a new custom home.

If anyone is in the process now (and has already started working with a contractor to build out the house), I'd love to chat and ask you a few questions.

If you could send an email to kmazaika@gmail.com it would be very much appreciated.

Aloha,
Ken
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
olldcan
What would you like to know?
    Bookmark   October 22, 2013 at 11:05AM
Ken Mazaika
Thanks for the comment!

I'm doing a project about the process a new home builder has to do when building a new custom house. I'm focusing on the process after the architect is finished with the plans, but before the keys are handed over by the contractor.

I'd love to have a 5 or 10 minute chat on the phone with you to talk about the process, the pain points, and what your experience was like.

You'd make a university student very happy.

Aloha,
Ken
    Bookmark   October 22, 2013 at 11:09AM
olldcan
In my "idea books" there's one called "the build". Currently it's a private book. I'll include your houzz user name so you can take a look through the pages and you can ask me there about the pain points.
    Bookmark   October 22, 2013 at 11:15AM
olldcan
I've added you, see you there.
    Bookmark   October 22, 2013 at 11:17AM
Ken Mazaika
The pictures are super helpful. Looks like your house is making a ton of progress :)

One of the biggest questions I have is about how you are making all the decisions about the finishes on the interior of the house.

Have you already picked everything out before the construction crew started to dig the first hole? Do you have a lot of decisions left to make? How have you communicated these decisions to the people building your home? Anything you can tell me about that process would be super appreciated.

Thanks, you rock!

Aloha,
Ken