Difficult room to arrange & my back is tired from dragging furniture!

smhillOctober 27, 2013
I would appreciate help with the arrangement of this room so much! It has proven difficult. I am not a designer by any means. I would love for it to be attractive, but it has to be functional. It was originally a dining room that we enclosed to make a 4th bedroom.

The dimensions are 12x12. There is a 6'6" window centered on the exterior wall, the door is on the opposite wall, and a 5' closet on an adjacent wall.

I have an antique full bed that is 58" wide. I am pretty open as long as the bed stays and I have storage and a work space. I could put the following items in here: 36" desk, 61" dresser, 2 bookshelves (36" wide), storage cabinet (4'x1.9'x5'), or put in a wall unit that is 82" long, 78" tall, and 21" deep, use it as a desk (won't be real comfortable) and storage, and add some seating.

I have attached photos (I apologize for the messy room!) I tried the bed in a couple of different places, but the closet kept getting in the way. Truly, any advice you can give would be so appreciated!
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
Amy Cali
Hi smhill. How deep is your desk? Where and what type closet door(s)?
    Bookmark   Thanked by smhill    October 27, 2013 at 11:27AM
smhill
The desk is less than 20" deep. I am attaching an additional image so you can see where the closet and nook are. Thank you for taking a look!
    Bookmark   October 27, 2013 at 12:16PM
smhill
Right now the bed is centered. That just doesn't work. I wanted to put that dresser (that you can almost see in the image above) in the closet, but it is just a teenie bit too long. I could get it in, but I might not be able to get it back out!

I tried catty-cornering the bed in the nook and the dresser on the opposite wall, but that didn't work either. There was no room for the desk or any other storage. The bed did look awesome there though!