Need help with remodel

wksalterOctober 28, 2013
Hello all.

This is my first time using Houzz discussions for input on a big project. I'm overwhelmed with all of the pieces of our remodel puzzle. Please let me know if you have any suggestions on how to best approach this using the Houzz discussions forum, I was going to separate the discussion per room, but most of the rooms are open to each other. It seems like I'm typing too much info here, but I wasn't quite sure how to go about this.

We are updating the whole house except for the master bath and closet. The rooms include: great room (entry, formal dining, living, kitchen, kitchen/dining, hall), office, master bedroom, utility room, hall bathroom and second bedrooms.

I think everything we need to determine for now includes:
paint scheme (walls, trim, cabinets)
base/door moulding styles
window treatments
living room furniture layout
wood flooring layout
lighting updates

In many months from now we will need to pick counters, back splashes, sinks, faucets, cabinet hardware, etc.

We have some thoughts on the overall look we like, and would appreciate any ideas or suggestions in accomplishing it!

The look we are aiming for is fresh, airy, fun, cheerful, up to date but not stark contemporary, and at the same time very comfortable, welcoming and finished. I will take some pics tomorrow of some of the accessories I have and hope to use, though I do not want to limit our choices based around having to use these accessories. I like some Houzz pictures I've seen with all white rooms with pops of color. I like the idea of whites, even a white couch (slip covered for laundering, maybe in an outdoor fabric, we have a toddler), with club chairs upholstered in a fun maybe kinda funky bright fabric and coordinating pillows on the couch. But I also like wood and natural elements. I do hope to avoid the room feeling cold or unwelcoming with the whites, but I think this can be accomplished with the right choices.