14 YEARS...
jdevinone
October 30, 2013 in Design Dilemma
I've been staring at this mantle for 14 years and just have no idea what to do with it. Seems so sparse.
I'd love to put stone over the brick I fireplace too

What y'all think?
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
dclostboy
I'd like to see the mantle over the fireplace only built up to the crown molding...it will add more substance / weight to what should be the focal point of the room. Easy to cover the brick...find a tile that you like and go with it.
October 30, 2013 at 5:28pm     
PRO
J. S. Brown Design
The mantel and book cases are very nice proportions, you could cover the brick surround and slab with calcutta white marble. I have seen a new product called Plane by Stonepeak
this is a porcelain 1/4" slab that looks just like calcutta stone for half the price.
October 30, 2013 at 6:59pm     
jdevinone
Can I just tile right over the brick?
October 30, 2013 at 7:10pm   
Lidia Nonn
Paint the inside of the book cases black, paint the fireplace brick black as well. Install one large mirror on the wall above the cases/fireplace and hang (with commercial suction cups) either your current mirror or art onto the wall mirror. Add candles, or lamps or both on the shelf. It will look stunning!
October 30, 2013 at 7:19pm     
jdevinone
Thanks Lidia. Hard to imagine black- sounds interesting. And my room is naturally on the dark side so is like to brighten it up
October 31, 2013 at 3:00am   
PRO
ReMax - Lisa
I would try painting the brick in BM Kendall charcoal before you go to expense and bother of tiles. It would look great against the white and could be done in an hour! Next some larger more chunky things on the mantle. Maybe a stack of large leather books, and a piece of large artwork or huge vases?
October 31, 2013 at 3:24am     
Michelle Ashby
Hi jdevinone, do you have a seperate TV room? is this room just for enjoying the fireplace and reading?
October 31, 2013 at 5:02am   
motownmom