Changes to make my house sell
smugsy1122
November 5, 2013
Good morning, all,

My 16 year old 2000 sq. ft. home is currently rented. My tenant leaves in March, and I have a month to do some market-friendly renovations to get it ready for market in mid-April (and hopefully) a quick sale. I am looking for advice on what projects I should take on. My budget is $10K, and that is just to guarantee a quick sale. I am already going to take a loss on the house, so I'm not ready to put more than that into it. I am starting to plan now to get contractors and supplies lined up so that when March 1st hits, I can get in there and get done.

I did a partial redo of the master bathroom last year, but it still has the original 16-year old vanity. It's in good shape, so I think I am just going to paint it.

Other "must do"
- Replace all flooring - Upstairs is all carpeted and the tenants dog destroyed most of it. (Thankfully, I got smart and charged a "dog fee" which will offset that cost". Downstairs is carpet and laminate. I am going to keep that combination, since hardwoods are not in the budget.
- Paint the entire house - The color scheme is very traditional (gold, orange, and green) and the market around me is tired of that.
- Replace all bathroom vanities - They are all original. They are in good shape, just dated.

After all of these are done, I see after about $4k left in the budget for the kitchen.

The biggest question is around the kitchen. It's dated, plain and simple. What would be my best way to go with that budget? The dishwasher is only 2 years old, so I hate to replace that, just for stainless steel. I have to replace the 2 year old stove, since my tenant destroyed the top of it (She never cleaned a spill off of it, and it has a ton of burned on food on it). I was thinking about painting the cabinets, instead of replacing. They are in good shape, just dated.