TV mount on veneer wall
kyle_s7
November 18, 2013 in Design Dilemma
I'm doing a veneer stone wall in my living room and wanted to know the proper way to mount the tv. Do I mount the tv bracket with a spacer to accommodate the the thickness of the stone and do the veneer around the mounting bracket? Or is there a proper way to mount the bracket over top of the veneer stone? I ask because the stones are all different thickness and do not sit flat. Thanks in advance :) here is a pic btw of what I want it to look like!
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
bungalowmo
The best thing is to NOT mount it above your fireplace.

Tv is for entertainment...fireplace is for ambiance. To have the tv on & fireplace lit as well...it becomes distracting to the eye. Besides the fact that having the tv mounted that high, it's not the natural viewing area for the eye.

I try to suggest this in the nicest way possible. It is what I do for a living...Audio Visual Design Engineer. It's my job to know these things.

Form should always follow function.
4 Likes   November 18, 2013 at 6:23PM
fredm51
The problem is the normal temperature for an electrical burnin room to test electronic equipment is 104 degrees. The added heat stresses the tv to show any bad components. The tv will fail sooner stressed like this day after day. I do not know how far you have come with your wall but measure the temperature where the base if the tv would stand, if over 90 degree think about a mantle if over 100 think about moving it. If it is not use metal standoff knowing where the studs are insert the standoff into the veneer using a masonary drill and screw mount into studs.
1 Like   November 18, 2013 at 7:04PM
kyle_s7
Thanks for the comments so far. I also do have a floating shelf underneath the tv (or mantel)
0 Likes   November 18, 2013 at 7:43PM
Jolene