Does a master bath really need a tub?
ctripsas
December 1, 2013 in Design Dilemma
Our house was built in the 1970's when large separate sunken tubs were so popular. For our remodel, I'd prefer to have a larger shower and some added storage space. Will remodeling without a master bathtub deter future buyers? We do have another bathroom with a tub/shower combo.
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
bobblet
My own feeling is that as long as the house has one tub somewhere you are ok....you need to think about re-sale, I could care less but someone like my hubby needs a tub...somewhere!
December 1, 2013 at 5:42pm     
PRO
Denise Darnell. William Raveis Real Estate.
As a Realtor, I can foresee problems if you remove the tub in the master bath.
December 1, 2013 at 5:45pm     
freadsmom
as a contractor and designer,how many days will you wake up to this bathroom and say damn wish i had of put a tub in...you bought the house with an enormous useless tube..so particullarly in you andyour partners private area install what makes you want to jump up every morning and enjoy your eminity..chances are by the time you sell there will be i new device to remove dirt lol
December 1, 2013 at 5:49pm     
PRO
Wow Great Place
Unless you are planning to move in 2-3 years, I would not worry so much about resale as I would about how YOU want to enjoy YOUR space.
Ideally, you should keep a tub somewhere in the house for resale, as young families in particular demand a tub for bathing wee ones.
However, if space is at a premium in your master bath, and you are not a big bath person, then I say go for a killer shower!
Large showers are in high demand, especially ones that you could almost hold a party in!
And having a fancy shower and plenty of storage will be better for YOU, from the sounds of it!
I say go for the big shower, and nix the tub (but ONLY if there is another tub in the main bathroom)
December 1, 2013 at 5:58pm     
Judiwithani