How to make a bed.
J Petempich
December 16, 2013 in Design Dilemma
Does anyone make their bed like this anymore? I have allergies and don't like extra pillows and still make a bed like my Mom taught me 50 years ago. I am trying to sell a house and the bedrooms have photos of beds made like this. Should I make changes?
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
PRO
Pure Home
An easy fix: Place two regular sized pillows in pretty shams upright (at a slant towards the wall) over the tucked in pillows for modernity.

-Andie P., Purehome.com

December 16, 2013 at 3:55PM        Thanked by J Petempich
Denita
Yes, update your bedding style. I am a Realtor and when clients see the bed's made the "old fashioned way" they think the home needs more repair! Crazy, I know, but when I show properties you hear the strangest things from buyers. You will end up with a better price with a few modern touches. One of the key points is to make the bed very plush and inviting. Please verify with your Realtor because there are differences in different markets.

Here is an example of an updated style:

December 16, 2013 at 3:57PM        Thanked by J Petempich
Darzy
Agree with the above. Or, just get pretty sheets/pillow cases and fold back with your bedspread (be sure the color/pattern is the right side when folding back). Then, just lay your bed pillows flat. Sample... You don't need the toss pillows.
MPD London
our house
December 16, 2013 at 4:00PM        Thanked by J Petempich
J Petempich
Thanks, then this does look old fashion to everyone. I guess I am the only person in the world still making a bed like this.
December 16, 2013 at 4:01PM     
J Petempich
My realtor should have told me instead of not putting the bedrooms on her site. I can take it.
December 16, 2013 at 4:03PM     
2dogssashatess
The bed is the focal point of the bedroom. it has to look great
December 16, 2013 at 4:03PM        Thanked by J Petempich
Darzy
It won't be a deal breaker for a sale. :)