Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nmahmoud87

Need help designing living/dining space

nmahmoud87
10 years ago
Hi All!

For years, I've moved quite often and never decorated because I never felt settled. Although I likely won't be staying in my current apartment for years to come, I want it to feel like home!

Some things to note:
-I'm not very good at DIY, but my budget isn't too high either so feel free to make suggestions!
-The couches belong to my landlord, so excuse all the black leather. Ideally, I'd love to replace them with a grey sofa and love seat.
-I started a gallery wall and feel good about what I have so far, but I have a problem of not knowing when to stop. I want it to feel young but sophisticated.
-None of the frames have pictures or artwork in them. Scared it will add too many colors. Most of the frames are small, but I'm starting to feel like I would prefer NOT to have personal photos...not displayed as a centerpiece at least.
-The walls were this color prior to move in. Paint suggestions?
-Need storage for my husbands weights that are sitting next to the TV.
-Looking for an accent chair and side table in the corner under the floor lamp.

I just need help finally closing the loop on this space!

Thanks so much!

Comments (50)

• nmahmoud87
    Original Author
    10 years ago
    More pictures.

Those pillows are new and though I love them, I don't think they fit with the space (assuming I'm going for grey or neutral toned seating).
  • PRO
    Bassett Furniture Design Studio
    10 years ago
    You should start by purchasing a sofa and love seat in fabric to soften the space. You accent frame wall is a great start, but needs some direction. Consider a larger element or a larger frame to mount three of your smaller frames on to create a larger center piece. See my idea book on Houzz that shows how to group elements on a wall. Consider larger lamps.

Www.scottscreativehome.com
  • nmahmoud87
    Original Author
    10 years ago