Different entryway flooring then flooring through rest of main floor.
acurra713
January 24, 2014 in Design Dilemma
We are about to renovate our entire first floor. I wanted to put marble in our entryway which will be different from the main floor flooring to break up the sight lines. We have had issues in the past with guests missing the step because the flooring right now is all the same. The marble would be on the upper level in the photo and on the two steps down into the main living area. Our flooring installer thinks this is a mistake. I'm not a professional decorator but I do think this is a good design choice. Thoughts?

FYI...The rest of the flooring will be porcelain wood grain in an espresso color. We opted for porcelain over hard wood because the homes in our neighborhood have been experiencing "builder" plumbing issues and my husband doesn't want to take any chances with hard wood.

Thanks for your feedback.
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
PRO
MLB Design Group
IMHO your guests are missing the step because this area looks to be poorly designed and unsafe. I would suggest reframing that top level so that it is more squared off encompassing part of the area devoted to second step. With a smaller "angled area" you could direct traffic better and have a more welcoming entry. This approach would also capture the bottom tread of your staircase more safely, which right now looks like its easy to miss.

With a good redesign you could, in fact, reduce the overall footprint of this area while increasing the square footage of that top level, eliminate sections of the second step thus freeing up some floor space at the main level, direct traffic better, and make this area safer with sections of hand rail added. I think it could be more aesthetically pleasing, too, with some classic detailing more in keeping with other style elements I see in this photo.

Then, your idea to install stone tile at the top level would add visual contrast to your entry area.