walkout basement floors are freezing

Patti SeeFebruary 1, 2014
We want to warm up our walkout basement bedroom, which is on a concrete slab. Right now it's covered with laminate. We are not carpet lovers. What can we do to insulate the floors? Is it possible to put down sheets of insulation and plywood over the top?
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
PRO
APK Designs LLC
How about heating the floors? I've never used a product like this before, but do you think it's worth looking into?

http://cozywinters.com/shop/rug-heat.html?utm_source=base&utm_medium=cse&utm_campaign=merchantadv&zmam=61752597&zmas=1&zmac=2&zmap=rug-heat&gclid=CMyR_vmorLwCFTHNOgod938AMQ

You can also install floor radiant heat but you would need to consult a contractor regarding implementation.
    Bookmark   Thanked by Patti See    February 1, 2014 at 5:45PM
PRO
Ironwood Builders
In the same vein and more pricey is a tile job over the concrete with a radiant electric heat mat installed below the tile. Warm and toasty. I've installed them in many bathrooms, on a porch and under the concrete of a driveway (years ago in much colder climes).
    Bookmark   Thanked by Patti See    February 1, 2014 at 10:21PM
Patti See
Thanks for the suggestions!
    Bookmark   February 2, 2014 at 7:50AM
sunnydrew
You could research an area rug heater pad that you put under the rug. http://www.rugbuddystore.com/
I am not recommending that brand per se, but the concept. We talk about buying one every winter but still have not. Our slab floor is always cold.
    Bookmark   February 2, 2014 at 7:54AM
riettas